Multiple Teams · Wrice, White named to All-District basketball team

Junior Kobe Wrice and sophomore Edwin White were recently named to the 11-5A all-district first team, selected by the coaches. Darius Watts, a 6-6 junior, earned a spot on the second team.
Wrice, a 6-4 forward, led the Bulldogs, averaging 15 points and 10 rebounds a game. White, a 6-2 point guard, averaged 7 points and 3 assists a game. Watts averaged 10 points and 5 rebounds a game.
North Dallas basketball coach Brett Cole said Wrice has “God-given talent.”
“I haven’t seen somebody as talented since Andre Iguodala,” said Cole, who played with the NBA forward now playing for the Golden State Warriors.
Cole compared White to “a Jason Kidd type,” citing his toughness and high basketball IQ.
“I was excited, but I wanted to be all-state,” said White, who’s favorite player is Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers.
When it comes to scoring or defense, White said he “likes defense more, and getting everybody involved.”
With Wrice, White and Watts returning next season, Cole said “the foundation has been built” for North Dallas basketball. Plus, the ND junior varsity finished with a 17-5 record.
“For first time, we’ll have a true varsity team,” Cole said, noting that previous teams have been “too young.”
Cole said he’ll be able to start teaching “concepts” of the game beyond learning the basic skills.
“It’s good that we stayed together,” White said. “We’ll have a pretty good program.”


Co-MVP: PG, Marcus Wade, Sr., Conrad; F, Deondre Burns, Sr., Carrollton Newman Smith

Offensive MVP: F, DeAndre Abram, Sr., Carrollton Creekview

Defensive MVP: PG, Dennis Shouse, Sr., Woodrow Wilson

Newcomer of the year: G, Travonte Maddox, Sr., Conrad

Sophomore of the year: G, Augustine Ene, So., Carrollton Creekview

Co-Coach of the year: Patrick Washington, Woodrow Wilson; Gerald Booker, Jr., Conrad


Pos. Player School Cl.

G Quincy Freeny Bryan Adams Fr.

G Damian James Conrad Sr.

G Michael Bowers Hillcrest Sr.

F Kobe Wrice North Dallas Jr.

G Damion Calhoun Thomas Jefferson So.

G Edwin White North Dallas So.

G Cameron McGee Carr. Newman Smith Jr.

G Mark Crowe Woodrow Wilson Jr

G Craig Martin Woodrow Wilson Sr.

F Hassan Thomas Woodrow Wilson Sr.

G Mykeus Woods Woodrow Wilson So.